- Visit hand weavers at work
- Go for a scenic drive on Tradouws Pass
- Take Pottery Classes
- Take a Botanical Scenic Walk
- Go for a hike or do some mountain biking
- Visit Barrydale Wine Cellar or Joubert Tradauw Cellar
- Spend some time at the Warmwaterberg Spa
- Have lunch at one of our restaurants
- Share the magnificence of our country with a registered nature tour guide.
The fruit harvesting season starts mid December and carries on until March, bringing with it an abundance of sun-ripened peaches, apricots, plums, apples and grapes, that is exported under the Cape Fruit label. The Tradouw Pass The unusual word “tradau” means the way of the women”and is believed to be derived from the Khoi words tra, signifying “women” and dau, denoting “way through”. This is but one of thirteen passes that master road engineer Sir Thomas Bain built in the Southern Cape during the 1800’s and to fully appreciate the character of the Tradouw pass you have to delve into its vibrant days of yesteryear … The suggestion of a pass was raised in 1858. The farmers wanted Port Beaufort (Witsand) at the mouth of the Breede River made more accessible for their produce. In 1867 the Colonial secretary, Robert Southey, proposed in Parliament that the pass be built, using convict labour, “as soon as such was available”. (The pass was first named after him, but the name did not achieve popularity and after a few years it reverted to the traditional “Tradouw Pass”.
Thomas Bain was instructed to do the planning and estimating. The Bain family moved into a lovely old farmhouse, Lismore, that belonged to the Barry family. Today the house still stands at foot of the Tradouw Pass and still belongs to the Barrys. In 1869 a work force of many convicts was transferred from the completed Robinson Pass between Oudtshoorn and Mosselbay. In the end of that year, four kilometres of difficult road, entailing a good deal of blasting, had been completed. The next year the number of convicts was drastically reduced and work slowed down accordingly. In 1873 Bain was transferred to plan and build the railway through Tulbagh Kloof. The qualified foreman, Mr Stephens, was left in charge. The Pass was declared open on 27th October 1873 by the Governor’s wife, Lady Barkley.
Barrydale developed into a productive fruit farming area.